Nasi Padang

After a meeting at PA yesterday, I came across this Nasi Padang store.20120421-183304.jpg

I selected Fried Tempe (soya bean), Fried Paru (cow lungs), Sambal Sotong (Squid), Sayur Lodeh (vegetables in coconut soup) with steamed white rice.

The Sambal is heavenly. The familiar taste of Paru, Sayur Lodeh and Tempe always make me smile. These are the simple food I ate during my school days in the school canteen.

What I also miss is Beef rending and Ubi leaves in coconut milk which I used to eat during NS days. I’ll write about that in another post.

One day, I’ll visit West Sumatra and try Minangkabau food in Padang.

As its name suggests, nasi padang – a plate of white rice served with a variety of pre-cooked dishes and condiments prepared with chillies, herbs and Indonesian spices – has its humble roots in West Sumatra and the regional capital of Padang. The cuisine, in one variation or another, has been available here for perhaps 60 years or more. (Soshiok.com)

5 thoughts on “Nasi Padang

Leave a Reply

