Remembering Steve Jobs


I just read the news that Steve Jobs passed away. Blogging on the way to the office.
Why am I writing this? I don’t know Steve Jobs personally neither am I a great fan but his passing affected me somehow. He has impacted my life and influenced some of my career choices.

I recall the years 1983 and 1984 with fondness.

In 1983, I joined the school computer club. We used the Apple IIe to learn the BASIC language (a general purpose programming language), it was easy to learn and use. We played games like AZTEC and “hacked” it for fun. During those days, programs were saved in a large floppy disc (they were really floppy!)

Years later, I used the Mac Classic II as a PC (I never called it a PC then, only “Mac”) and we enjoyed the WSIYWIG and GUI running MS Word. 2MB RAM and 20 MB hard disk was a big deal then.
Now, we have iPhones, an iPad 2 and a Macbook Pro.

I always have a passion for computers and software, thanks to people like Steve Jobs, who founded Apple with Steve Wozniak on April Fool’s day in 1976. He is a great visionary who redefined the computer, music and mobile phone industry.

Goodbye Steve, you will be missed.

Leave a Reply

